Writer’s Block

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Writer’s Block Party.”

Oh god, writer’s block. I wouldn’t even consider myself a writer yet I had the worst case of writer’s block at a certain point this semester. Well maybe not THE worst, but it was THE worst it’s even been in my little world.

This semester I’m taking a writing class. We’ve explored scripts (favorite), poems (least favorite), creative non-fiction, fiction, prose, etc. It’s been an interesting class, but also super intriguing. I’ve learned a lot about myself while learning how to write. But at a certain point I just couldn’t do it anymore.

I’m not entirely sure what brought it about, it may have been a really bad prompt from the professor. But I sat and sat and sat and I just couldn’t write. I think the topic was “Something no one knows.” Super easy, right? I struggled way too hard.

And now here we are at the end of the semester when we are supposed to compile every serious piece we’ve written along with a few new pieces and throw them all together in a portfolio and I’m stuck. Again.

So the last time I had writer’s block is, well, now. Hm.

Leave a Reply

