Coffee is better than a hug

Envision a rendezvous with an old friend.

A good friend – like someone you were close with in years previous.

You arrive at the meeting spot and see this person waiting there for you.

You’re nervous; you check and make sure you look alright in your car’s rear-view mirror.

You look great. You step out.

They see you. You begin walking in their direction as they stand up to greet you.

They take you into their arms with something along the lines of “Oh my gosh, it’s been ages!”

That’s how I feel when I take my first sip of coffee in the morning.

I used to hate coffee. The smell of it would make my lips curl and head turn. I knew I’d be fine, I wouldn’t be one of those people who became addicted to coffee in college. I don’t really know what changed.

I had my first “coffee like beverage” first semester of sophomore year. I say it like that because it was a Starbucks frappe, so coffee but not exactly. My friends who were acquainted with “legitimate coffee” made sure to remind me each time I’d go for the sugary stuff that it wasn’t “actual coffee.” I decided it was time to wean off the sugar and get over this lip curling dislike of “actual coffee.”

It started at Bruegger’s. I got a french vanilla coffee. I know what you’re thinking but baby steps. Since then I’ve been having a cup of Green Mountain’s breakfast brew every morning with my blog.

Or would it be having a blog every morning with my coffee?

I wouldn’t say I’m addicted, but you know what they say.

“I fell in love the way you way fall asleep. Slowly, and then all at once.”

Leave a Reply

